Matthew 12:15

What a mass of hideous disease must have thrust itself under the eye of Jesus! Yet they read not that they was disgusted, but patiently waited on every case. What a singular variety of evils must have met at his feet! What sickening ulcers and putrefying sores! Yet they were prepared for every new shape of the monster evil, and were victor over it in every form. Let the arrow fly from what quarter it might, they quenched its fiery power. The heat of fever or the chilled of dropsy; the lethargy of palsy, or the anger of madness; the filth of leprosy, or the darkness of ophthalmia all knew the power of his word, and fled at his command. In every corner of the field they were triumphant over evil, and received the homage of delivered captives. They came, they saw, they conquered in all places. It is even so this morning. Whatever my own case may be, the beloved Physician can heal me; and whatever may be the state of others whom I may keep in mind at this moment in prayer, I may have hope in Jesus that they will be able to heal them of their sins. My infant, my mate, my dearest, I can have hope for each, for all, when I keep in mind the healing power of my Lord; and by myself account, however extreme my struggle with sins and infirmities, I may yet be of lovely cheer. They who on earth walked the hospitals, still dispenses his grace, and works wonders among the sons of men: let me go to him without delay in right earnest.
Let me praise him, this morning, as I keep in mind how they wrought his spiritual cures, which bring him most renown. It was by taking on himself our sicknesses. “By his stripes they are healed.” The Church on earth is filled with souls healed by our beloved Physician; and the inhabitants of heaven itself confess that “He healed all of them.” Come, then, my soul, publish abroad the virtue of his grace, and let it be “to the Lord for a name, for an everlasting sign which shall not be cut off.”

